If you are injured in an auto accident the last thing you need is the insurance adjuster for the at-fault party asking you to give a statement. After an accident you will be dealing with matters you may not have ever dealt with before. At Anderson & Lopez the first advice we give a client is not to talk to the insurance adjuster. We also tell our clients not to listen to the insurance adjuster about where to seek treatment, who will pay for treatment and how much treatment you can have.
Jim Anderson and Rick Lopez the lawyers and owners at Anderson & Lopez have each personally handled thousands of injury cases in Colorado. Insurance adjuster will tell you that you need to recount the accident. We know what adjusters are trying to do when they ask for a statement right after an injury accident. We also know making you give a statement in the first 15 days is against the law in Colorado.
Colorado Revised Statute § 13-21-301(1)(c) prohibits the liability adjuster from obtaining a statement from the injured party during the first 15 days after an accident. This statutory authority is there for your protection and for good reason. The insurance adjusters don’t have your best interest at heart and a statement so soon after an accident can really catch you off guard. Unfortunately, we hear about this happening way too often. If you have been injured in an automobile accident don’t talk to or listen to the liability adjuster for an insurance company that doesn’t have your best interest in mind. Call Anderson & Lopez for expert advice from an injury attorney with over 30 years of experience personally representing the injured in Colorado. Call us today 719-471-1818; consultations are free and you only pay if we collect for you. You don’t have to pay more for expert advice and personal representation.