Adjuster not allowed to negotiate settlement with the injured in first 30 days

When can an adjuster begin negotiating a settlement?

Adjuster not allowed to negotiate settlement with the injured in first 30 days

If you are injured in an auto accident the last thing you need is the insurance adjuster for the at-fault party calling and asking you to settle. After an accident you will be dealing with matters you may not have ever dealt with before. The last thing you need is an insurance adjuster telling you that you need to settle quick. At Anderson & Lopez the first advice we give a client is not to talk to the insurance adjuster about your injuries. We also tell our clients not to listen to the insurance adjuster about where to seek treatment, who will pay for treatment and how much treatment you can have. 

Jim Anderson and Rick Lopez the lawyers and owners at Anderson & Lopez have each personally handled thousands of injury cases in Colorado. We know what adjusters tell those injured by their insureds and we know the right advise to give our clients. We also know that trying to get you to settle in the first 30 days is against the law in Colorado. 

Colorado Revised Statute §13-21-301(1)(a) and (b) provides that the negligent party or a representative of the person that caused the injuries shall not attempt to negotiate a settlement or enter into a settlement with the person that was injured and under the care of a medical provider. 

If you have been injured in an automobile accident don’t talk to or listen to an adjuster for an insurance company that does not have your best interests in mind call Anderson & Lopez for expert advise from an injury attorney with over 30 years of experience personally representing those injured in Colorado. Call us today at (719) 471-1818. Consultations are free and you only pay if we collect for you.  You don’t have to pay more for expert advice and personal representation.